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CalABLE
Providing greater financial security to Californians 
living with a disability



Achieving Better Life Experiences Act 2014

o Adds Section 529A Qualified ABLE Program to the Internal 

Revenue Code

o Allows states to create tax-advantaged savings and 

investment programs for people with disabilities 

o Provides that assets in your ABLE account will not affect 

eligibility for means-tested benefits like SSI or Medi-Cal 
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California ABLE Act: “CalABLE”

• CalABLE - California’s ABLE Program

o California ABLE Act generally mirrors the 

federal law

o Online based savings and investment program

o A national program 

o Program administered by the State Treasurer 

and overseen by seven-member Board

o Launched on December 18, 2018
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Who is Eligible? 
• Must be disabled before age 26 AND

• Meets the eligibility criteria for disability benefits like SSI or SSDI - OR-

• Self-certification: Has been diagnosed by a qualified physician with a 
physical or mental disability resulting in marked and severe functional 
limitations that is expected to last at least one year.

• Condition is listed on SSA’s List of Compassionate Allowances or Blue 
Book Listings
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Account Contributions
• Before the ABLE Act

o A person with a disability could not 
save more than $2,000 without 
impacting their SSI

• Now

o You can save up to $15,000 per 
year and up to $100,000 in total 
before SSI is impacted

• CalABLE will automatically reject 
excess contributions

$529,000 total contribution 
cap for CalABLE (contribution 

only) 

$100,000 total cap for 
recipients of SSI benefits 
(contribution + earnings)

$15,000 annual contribution 
cap (contribution only) 
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ABLE to Work
• Permits working account owners to contribute above the 
$15,000 annual contribution limit, if they or their employer are 
not contributing to a retirement plan.

o Can contribute whichever is less:

o Amount equal to annual gross salary OR

o Federal Poverty Level ($12,140 in 2019)

o For a potential $27,140 per year
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Some ABLE Basics
• Only one ABLE account

• Beneficiary is always the account owner

• Account can be opened by the beneficiary or an Authorized 

Legal Representative (parent, legal guardian/conservator, 

Power of Attorney)

• Accounts are asset-protected – they cannot shelter income

• Function both like a savings/checking account

• Anyone can contribute

• Funds are tax-exempt as long as they are spent on “Qualified 

Disability Expenses”
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What is a Qualified Disability 
Expense (QDE)?
• Any expense related to the designated beneficiary as a result of 
living a life with disabilities that helps maintain or improve your 
health, independence or quality of life

• Categories are intentionally broad, and include education, 
housing*, transportation, health care expenses and more 

• Non-QDE: Not illegal, but if taken, expense is now subject to 
regular income taxes, plus a 10% tax penalty on account earnings 
– and benefits may be at risk (expense may now be considered a 
resource)
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CalABLE Features and Benefits

o Low fees

o Free, easy online enrollment process

o Contributions/deposits can be made via electronic       

fund transfers from a bank account, or by check

o E-Gifting

o Prepaid debit card (coming soon)
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Protection from Medi-Cal 
Recovery & Creditors
• SB 218 (Dodd) passed in 2017:

o Medi-Cal will not file a claim directly on the ABLE. The state may recover 

on assets that have transferred from an ABLE account to an estate 

o Deceased was 55 or older

o Estate is subject to probate ($150,000 in assets or more)

o Individual received nursing facility services or home and community 

services included hospital and prescription drugs

o Deceased not survived by a spouse, child under 21 or disabled child of 

any age. 

o Account Protection only applies to California residents with a CalABLE

account 

• AB 688 (Calderon) passed in 2017:

o Exempts ABLE accounts from enforcement of money judgements 
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Housing Guidance
Reinforces the language and spirit of the Federal ABLE Act

o HUD will exclude:
o ABLE funds in determining family income

o Third party contributions

o The Entire value of an ABLE account from household assets

o Distributions from an ABLE account are not considered income

o Wage income received will be included as income
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CalABLE Fees 
Fee Type

Account Maintenance Fee (annual – assessed monthly) $37

Underlying Investment Fee (varies per investment choice & asset-based) 0.00% - 0.10%

State Administrative Fee 0.44%

Paper Statement Mail Delivery Fee (annually) $10

Insufficient Funds (per occurrence) $20

Check Issuance Fee (per check) $5
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• Online enrollment free

• $25 minimum deposit to open account



CalABLE Fees (cont’d)
$3,000 Assumed Assets

Investment Option FDIC 
Conservative 

Growth

Moderate 

Growth

Aggressive 

Growth

Account Maintenance Fee $37 $37 $37 $37

Underlying Investment Fee 
0.00% FDIC

0.09% Conservative

0.10% Moderate

0.08% Aggressive

$0 $2.70 $3 $2.40

State Administrative Fee $0 $13.20 $13.20 $13.20

Total Annual Fees* $37 $52.90 $53.20 $52.60
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*Paper statements will include an additional annual $10 fee



Ready to Open Your Account?
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Get started at: CalABLE.ca.gov



Need Help with the Enrollment 
Process?

CalABLE Customer Call Center 

Open 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. PST

Monday – Friday
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833-Cal-ABLE (833-225-2253)
CalABLESupport@CalABLE.ca.gov

tel://1-833-225-2253/
mailto:CalABLESupport@calable.ca.gov


Connect With CalABLE 
• Find us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn  
◦ Facebook:  California ABLE Act Board

◦ Twitter:  @CalABLE_Board

◦ YouTube:  California ABLE Act Board

◦ LinkedIn:  California ABLE Act Board 

• Join our email distribution list – visit http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/able; 
under “Quick Links” in left side bar, click “Sign Up to Receive CalABLE 
Information”
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http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/able


Consider the investment objectives, risks, charges and expenses before investing in the California 529A Qualified 
ABLE Program (CalABLE Program). Please call toll-free 833-CAL-ABLE for a Disclosure Statement containing this and 
other information. Read it carefully.

Before investing in any ABLE program, you should consider whether your home state provides its taxpayers with 
favorable state tax or other benefits that are only available through investment in the home state’s ABLE program. 
You also should consult your financial, tax, or other adviser to learn more about how state- based benefits (or any 
limitations) would apply to your specific circumstances. You also may wish to directly contact your home state’s 
ABLE program, or any other ABLE program, to learn more about those plans’ features, benefits and limitations. 
State-based benefits should be one of many appropriately weighted factors to be considered when making an 
investment decision.

The CalABLE Program is offered by the State of California. TIAA-CREF Tuition Financing, Inc. (TFI), program manager. 
TIAA-CREF Individual & Institutional Services, LLC, Member FINRA, distributor and underwriter.

None of the State of California, its agencies, TFI or TCS nor any of their applicable affiliates insures accounts or 
guarantees the principal deposited therein or any investment returns on any account or investment option, and 
you may lose the principal amount invested. The FDIC Insured Portfolio is FDIC-insured up to $250,000, subject to 
certain restrictions. Interests in the CalABLE Program are not registered with or in any way approved by the 
Securities and Exchange Commission or by any state securities commission. 985083
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