California Disaster Assistance and Resources

Emergency Declarations

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has declared individuals and households located in the following California counties are eligible for assistance in the wake of winter storms:

  • Alameda
  • Amador
  • Calaveras
  • Contra Costa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Monterey
  • Sacramento
  • San Joaquin
  • San Luis Obispo
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Ventura

See FEMA’s announcement for more information.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Business owners, employees, and self-employed workers who lost their jobs or businesses or had fewer work hours due to recent storms in the designated counties listed above are also eligible for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). Applications for DUA benefits must be filed by applicants in Alameda, Contra Costa, Mendocino, and Ventura counties by March 9, 2023, unless the individual has good cause to file a late application. Claimants from San Mateo County must file by March 2, 2023. Claimants from Calaveras County must file by February 27, 2023, and individuals who file claims from Sacramento, Merced, Santa Cruz, Monterey, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and San Joaquin counties must file their DUA applications by February 22, 2023. The fastest and easiest way to apply for DUA is to use the EDD’s online application.

Disaster Recovery Centers

Disaster recovery centers are available to provide local, state, and federal support to survivors and businesses that have suffered losses or damages related to the winter storms.

Income Tax Extensions

Additionally, individuals located in 51 counties are eligible for state and federal income tax filing extensions. Affected federal taxpayers now have until October 16 to file and pay. California’s tax agencies are also providing extensions for state tax filers. The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) is also extending the filing deadline to October 16, while the Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) is offering extensions up to three months for filers.